Venetian monuments, old town districts but also monuments of a more recent history of the city of Chania; all together make up the character of the town of Chania and give a unique color in one of the most beautiful cities of Greece.
The Venetian port of Chania, including the Venetian lighthouse, is one of the symbols of the city and a favourite walking area for locals and visitors alike.
The old town of Chania embodies the long history of the city; in the picturesque alleys, visitors can see the marks left by every civilization that has settled here for a period of time in the past. Venetian, Ottoman, Neoclassical monuments and architectural elements, old neighbourhoods, historical sites and a lot of local colour characterize the old town of Chania, which is justly called by some “Venice of the East”.
The city of Chaniawas surrounded by walls already in the Byzantine era. The Byzantine fortification had an irregular shape and enclosed the hill of Kasteli. These walls, which were built with stones detached from the ruins of Ancient Kidonia, were repaired in 1252 by the Venetian conquerors, who built a new city within the walls, following a new city plan.
The Panagia Trimartiri is considered as the protector of the city of Chania. The central aisle is dedicated to the Presentation of the Virgin Mary (Isodia tis Theotokou), which is celebrated on November 21. The northern aisle is dedicated to St. Nicholas (Agios Nikolaos) and the southern aisle to the Three Cappadocian Fathers (Tris Ierarhes).
In the last years of the Turkish rule, when the city was suffocating inside restrictive walls, the need for free space for recreation was very intense.